Chicago Conceal and Carry Lawyer
As of January 1, 2014, the new Conceal and Carry laws became effective in Illinois. The new law, like many others in their infancy is changing on a daily basis. The State of Illinois, the city of Chicago and the towns and municipalities throughout the state have their own laws and ordinances which can be extremely confusing to even the most conscientious gun owner.
As a Chicago Conceal and Carry lawyer, I have carefully reviewed the new laws and kept up with all the news relating to the Conceal & Carry statutes. I have become an expert in the field and I am currently a panel attorney for the Illinois Rifle Association and the U.S. Conceal and Carry Association; advising it’s members of their legal rights in relation to these new laws. I have been retained by new Conceal & Carry licensees, to advise them in relation to both their personal lives, as well as possible business situations. Even the most innocent mistake by a gun owner can lead to not only the loss of the Conceal & Carry license, but arrest and possible incarceration.
Conceal and Carry Eligibility in Illinois
In order to obtain a concealed carry license (CCL) in the state of Illinois, you must possess a Firearm Owner’s Identification (FOID) card, or qualify for one and be in the process of applying for it. In addition, you must submit to a background check and you cannot have been convicted of a felony, a misdemeanor involving violence in the past five years, or two or more DUIs.
Penalties for Conceal and Carry Violations in Illinois
It is a class A misdemeanor to possess a weapon without an FOID card, if you are eligible to obtain a card. Penalties can include a fine of up to $2,500, up to one year in jail, or both. Any second or subsequent violation is considered a class 4 felony, which is punishable by a fine of up to $25,000, at least one year (up to three years) in prison, or both.
(430 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 65/14(b).)
If you are not eligible to obtain an FOID card, it is a class 3 felony to possess a weapon. If convicted, you may be facing a fine of up to $25,000, at least two (and up to five) years in prison, or both. Third or subsequent violations of this type are considered a class 1 felony, which is punishable by a fine of up to $25,000, six to 30 years in prison, or both.
(430 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 65/14(c).)
Experienced Conceal and Carry Defense in Chicago
Contact our office if you have any questions regarding your rights to carry a gun. We know that you are concerned about your safety; you should also be concerned about your freedom. Contact Michael A. Johnson at 312-222-0660 to learn more about your rights with a Chicago Conceal and Carry Lawyer!